This Christmas I reflect with Gratitude on:

This Christmas I reflect with gratitude on:

(In no particular order…)

My Grandma

My Grandma has a comforting presence to me, her energy is a Mother’s love. She’s never ceased being amazed by the blessings and wonders each day brings – whether it’s snapping green beans on the back porch for dinner, catching fireflies in summer, gathering in her den enjoying conversation, feeding the ducks at the pond, the red roses in her garden, a tea party, or a “big adventure” to an amusement park or historical spot. In her presence, my heart has always felt safe and engaged in the wonder of the present moment. I and the world – are wonderful just as we are.

My Grandma has a deep love of Christ. I’ve always noticed the rosaries, bibles, crosses, and images of Jesus and Mary when I visit her. She shared her faith in a gentle and natural way with me, bringing me to church with her when I was a little girl, and speaking openly about how God is her strength and comfort and has carried her through life.

However it was never any words or images of Christ or the cross alone that ever meant all that much to me as a child or as I grew. It was always her, her loving presence and how it made me feel, that stood out as a Heaven on Earth. When I saw a cross, an image of Mary, or Jesus – it was always her I thought of. Therefore, despite growing up in the passionately atheist home of my parents (think Christopher Hitchens) and considering myself an atheist since birth, the cross, Jesus, Mary – Christianity has always radiated to me with the beautiful sacredness of love.

Taken at Grandma’s

Dostoevsky

I was 19 or 20 when I first read Dostoevsky’s novel The Brothers Karamazov. The novel highlighted the clear split between my thinking mind and my feeling heart. My heart connected deeply with the character Alyosha, an aspiring monk, and his mentor, an elder monk named Zosima. I was inspired by the beauty of their wise words, steadfast kindness, and the compassionate stance they tried to take towards every person they met. They quickly became my heart’s favorite fictional characters of all time.

However my mind sided with a different character – Alyosha’s logic focused and atheist brother, Ivan. My mind stood in awe and approval of Ivan’s arguments against the goodness of God, his courageous dedication to brutal truths and logic, and his sharp intelligence. My mind viewed Ivan as having the wisdom and the strength to find the harsh path of reality/the truth and to take it. My mind understood Ivan’s philosophy, words, and actions weren’t very beautiful, but the truth is the truth was the philosophy Ivan and my mind endorsed.

However it seems Alyosha’s and Zosima’s philosophy of love struck something deeper inside of me. A decade later when my inner world went pitch black, the memory of the beauty of their faithful love and compassion was one of the few lights I could find in me. The memory was a blinking arrow directing me to the goodness, the beauty, and the power of Christ like love. That light inspired me to pick up Brothers Karamazov again and then pick up the Bible. It was one the the earliest steps I took on this journey back to self.

Love all God’s creation, the whole and every grain of sand in it. Love every leaf, every ray of God’s light. Love the animals, love the plants, love everything. If you love everything, you will perceive the divine mystery in things. Once you perceive it, you will begin to comprehend it better every day. And you will come at last to love the whole world with an all-embracing love.

Father Zosima (Brothers Karamazov)

“What is hell? I maintain that it is the suffering of being unable to love.” 

Father Zosima (Brothers Karamazov)

My Children

I decided in high school, if not middle school, that I wanted to be a stay at home mom. Being a mother, and being with my children full time their first years, has always felt like a calling to me. So when I had my first child, my son, and I was able to stay at home with him full time I was delighted. It all felt like a dream come true!

And it was a dream, but it was also real life. My first year of motherhood was a colossal adjustment. My son needed a lot of attention, and he knew how to make that need known. The family encouragement and support I had assumed I’d received never showed up. It was just me and my husband and a very fussy baby. That lack of support cut me deeply, and was the start of the painful opening of my eyes to my own childhood. I took great care of my son, but horrible care of myself. I feel shame admitting this, but the truth is resentment towards him started to grow in me. And then a dread I felt in my very soul hit me – as I realized though he could not actually hurt me I could, and likely would, hurt him (I do not mean physically, just emotionally or damaging his understanding of love ,himself, or trust, etc.) And I did not want that to happen! My heart saw the innocence of his little soul and it was a rare time where my mind and heart agreed – there was no doubt that this little baby was more pure and innocent than me.

Thankfully my son, and daughter who was born 2 years later, are the best teachers of love I have ever met. Their authenticity, wonder, innocence, and the endless grace they show me reminded my heart and mind of something I had unknowing lost long ago – the belief in unconditional love. Suddenly unconditional love which was the most good, and beautiful thing, was also a TRUTH. If it was possible, then that meant it was a goal I could strive for. And I wanted to give that so badly to my children. I started learning about and practicing loving unconditionally – and found that is is NOT easy work. Being their mother and growing in this role has been the most terrifying, challenging, and meaningful work I have ever done. It was the very start of this journey back to self.

“I love everything best”

My Son

Fred Rogers

Until I became a parent, I knew almost nothing about Fred Rogers, his philosophy, and his TV show, Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood. I discovered Fred Rogers though my son’s favorite PBS show Daniel Tiger. I loved how in Daniel Tiger emotions and relationships were the focus. I loved the shows continual emphasis on all emotions being natural and okay – emotions are not hurtful or bad it is how we express them that can be troublesome. The show focused on teaching kids how to appropriately express their emotions.

This mindset about emotions made perfect sense to me, though I knew that wasn’t the mindset I lived by. My instinct was to label much of the inner emotional world as “silly” or “wrong”. My instinct was invalidating emotions. And because of that I struggled to figure out what my own emotions were deep down and had never learned the skill of appropriately expressing them. So I sat right next to my son learning about emotions through Daniel Tiger.

At some point I learned that Daniel Tiger was based off of Fred Rogers’ philosophy and his show Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood. So I started watching Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood too. I found his gentle presence and childlike curiosity and joy for life very moving. He seemed to radiate love and safety to me. He would often look at the camera and say some version of “I like you just the way you are”. This stirred up a great deal of internal resistance in my mind. I would feel frustrated, and I observed my mind instinctually retorting “But then how will they/or I improve?”. Sometimes my frustration would boil over and I would even tell my husband “I don’t really agree with that sort of….unconditional praise” and fumble around as to why that was saying something like “this world and the people in it need serious improvement, sorry but we most definitely are NOT okay as we are, and people need to hear and accept that truth and get to work being better.”

But alongside my inner resistance, I couldn’t help but notice part of me was actually very receptive to his message and felt touched by it. A soft and vulnerable part of me, I wasn’t used to seeing, was being brought to the surface by the very words that frustrated the thinking side of me. Sometimes even tears would well up in my eyes at his words of unconditional love and acceptance. I believed him! I believed that he, this stranger, would love me exactly as I was right then, despite everything I’ve done or will do. He would see me, he would listen to me, and he would LOVE me. That belief in the possibility of unconditional love was a powerful and stabilizing force to me. I aspired to be more like him myself, I wanted others (especially my children) to believe in and feel that beautiful love from me. Which sounds a lot life his message that I was likable just the way I was – inspired me to……”improve”. (I’m teasing my mind here, but I have come to learn the somewhat non instinctual truth that – Love not criticism leads to improvement.)

Fred Rogers singing “It’s You I Like” and saying this after “And that’s true. And you’ll find that the people who love you best, are the one’s you learn the most from. And the more they teach you and the more you learn the better feeling you’ll have about yourself and the world we live in”
Fred Rogers singing “There Are Many Ways To Say I Love You”…Followed by these words “As you grow I trust that you are finding many more ways to show and tell people that you love them. Those are the most important things that you’ll ever ever learn to do. Because loving people and animals and the world we all live in is the most important part of being alive.”

My Husband

This year has been a tough one for our marriage – lots of life changes and inner realizations and very little quality alone time together. At points it has felt like our marriage was a chapter in our lives, and it was quickly coming to a close. So it might be surprising for my husband to see himself on this list, but on reflection he shouldn’t be surprised.

In the second half of this year my inner struggles came more clearly to the surface than they ever have in my life. Waves of every emotion I’ve ever felt came out and it changed on a weekly basis. It was messy. Yet, somehow, he never judged me. He’s tried to be there for me even when I pulled away from him and expressed doubt about our marriage surviving this inner change in me. His focused seemed always on getting me back on solid footing. He reassured me he loved me and wanted to see me happy and healthy no matter what that meant for us. His focus wasn’t on what he had to gain or lose – it was my wellbeing. That is unconditional love, and it’s been a beautiful and inspiring thing to see.

He may not be artful in day to day expressions of love, but when times were tough (which is when love is truly tested) he’s displayed his unconditional love clearly. While others, who I thought loved me and would always be there to catch me, fled or at best stood by with criticism, doubts, frustration, invalidation, and wordy advice he reached out with the strongest arms of love he has to try to catch me. And his effort, simply seeing his effort, did steady me in my fall and guided me to softer spot to land. Unconditional love came from an expected source unexpectedly – I clearly have some reflecting to do.

WordPress Friends

At the beginning of my journey back to self I assumed the major changes happening in me were a uniquely “me” experience. It wasn’t until many months into my journey, maybe closer to a year, that I began to suspect I wasn’t alone in this journey. That what I was experiencing was a human experience – like the experience of falling in love, or the experience of missing someone, or the experience of tasting good food.

That’s when I started this blog. I wanted to document my evolving journey ( a human journey) in my sometimes beautiful, sometimes good, but always true inner world. And in this blog I have done that, but this blog has gifted me so much more than I ever expected. It connected me to you! So many people have reached out to share their own experiences and perspectives and what they’ve learned on their journeys in healing, motherhood, faith, creativity, love, and life. I am overwhelmed with gratitude to everyone who has taken time out of their lives to show kindness to me – an internet stranger. My WordPress friends have given me the beautiful gift of feeling seen, encouraged, relatable, understood, deserving of compassion and loved. This blog created to document my journey back to self has become an essential element in my journey back to self.

I will be forever thankful to each of these people who reminded my heart and mind of the truth and power that is Love. That is God.

10 thoughts on “This Christmas I reflect with Gratitude on:

  1. He is showing us a journey so that we can find that love in ourselves. His world is full of beauty, even in the bad bits. It is when we go through sad times that only then can we see and appreciate happiness for what it is…and on through all those other emotions and their opposites to fully appreciate them all. And in doing so we will find our hearts, see that we are in fact a very beautiful soul within…and not the doubts we have inadvertently picked up as a child. Our parents unintentionally pass onto us their fears which was passed onto them by their parents. And in what felt like a rejection or many doubts of ourselves…is God’s journey for us, by being bound in those many conditions that this world is built on, we endure so much pain and hurt so that we will one day see why that pain is within us, why we have reacted to everything is simply from those childhood pains, fears and doubts. We need to see and feel it all so that both sides can be understood, and finally an appreciation of what we have endured is felt. And the day we finally ‘see’ why we had been bound by those fears is the day we understand and they lose their powers over us, we are set free to really appreciate the unconditional love we have now been shown. But one cannot be done without the other, God gave us both so that we could understand and ‘see’ Him for what He is. We cannot ‘see’ His unconditional love without first understanding what it is not, and by feeling all that conditional love when unconditional love is finally seen it is such a profound and beautiful understanding…of ourselves and God. All of that ‘looking out there’ for something missing, something lost has always been those doubts of ourselves from our childhood. When we finally have that courage to look deeply within, back to our childhood times, we will finally see a very young emotional mind trying to handle very adult fears being unintentionally projected at us from our parents, leaving us struggling to cope with something we ever hide from everyone because we don’t want others to think we have something wrong with us. We hide it, avoid it and struggle for many, many years. Wearing our masks to the world. But it is His journey for us so that we can in fact see and appreciate those conditions we bind ourselves in, and in doing so will then be able to see and understand unconditional when it arrives. Understand your pain deep within and in there is your freedom. All, and I mean all, that I ask after that discovery within them, would they change anything on their journey all said the same thing. They would not change one step because they now know each and every step that they have taken is what made them exactly what they now are so that they could eventually find that self love, removing those doubts by understanding them and finally stand in that unconditional love we have ever been missing. Yes, it is hard, but it is also giving you something so beautiful and loving to be beyond words. Have faith and trust, and know it is a hope for us all ❤️ 🙏🏽 🦋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, this was so beautifully written! Thank you for sharing your knowledge and encouragement.

      I am starting to see the outline of what you described in my own journey. But the pain from lack of experience with that unconditional love (and my awareness my own family struggles from lacking that love too) sometimes feels it will break me. There is a hopeless sense I get stuck in.

      But I have seen the beauty and surprising simplicity of unconditional love. It is the most wonderful of things! I didn’t believe it existed before, but I do believe now. And that does bring me peace in a general sense.

      It’s a rollercoaster of feelings these days, but I suspect that is the journey. Thank you for sharing the people you have spoken to all say it is worth it. It’s very uplifting for me to hear.❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is difficult, but like all things we build it is very appreciated at its end. Only then can we see all that went into it, all that was endured and finally understand what it all means having experienced it all. I suppose it is like me putting a tiny screw on the table and saying it is a space shuttle, it cannot be appreciated until we go through it all, the ups and the downs, highs and the lows. Only then can it be seen for what it is. And our hearts must do the same, days of laughter, shadowed by pain, and on through all those emotions. Because at the end we will have seen a beauty that is beyond words. The day I finally looked deep back at my childhood pain, but this time as an adult, I finally admitted to myself just what that pain was, how it had held me like that child even in my adulthood so that I ever thought ‘I am not good enough or they don’t love me or cannot do this or that’, and could finally see that it was in fact just a simple thing…but had held me bound forever. But that is its crucial point, we must go through it all so that we CAN appreciate our hearts journey and finally see a love, a very beautiful love…our love. We, after going through such painful things in our belief, are those conditions we bind ourselves with…but in finally seeing the lie of which we had bound ourselves…we see a truth, our truth, and that lie will lose its power over us…and finally set us free…and an unconditional love like nothing we have ever experienced will settle in our hearts, unbinding the walls we build, and begin something I can barely put into words because the english language does not ‘know’ unconditional love. There are not enough words to show something that is entirely invisible, but so powerful to move us beyond this world. Have faith and believe that all that you are experiencing, bad or good, is taking you closer and closer to that place. Dare to look at your pain and see where it truly comes from. If you look at all of your relationships find the one common denominator where it hurts so much, causes you to cry or scream in anger…and deep down in your childhood is that exact place, in how you related to your mom or dad…or both, those who you loved and looked up to as a child…but were hurt, rejected or treated in such a way by them that you did the one thing that only a young child can do and that is ‘block’ those actions towards you and build a wall around your heart to not feel its pain…and carry it on into all those later relationships. You know no other way because that is what was taught you, it is the only way you know how to be in a relationship…and on it goes. Your parent was taught that way and unintentionally passed it onto you, as you will to your children, like them you know no other way. But…all of it is needed so that you can see and understand truly what conditional love is, so that unconditional love is its destination. Enjoy the journey, hard as it is, it is giving you a beauty beyond words ❤️ 🙏🏽 🦋

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can not tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to write this all to me. It feels so validating.

        This sentence in particular jumped off the page to me, “I can barely put into words because the english language does not ‘know’ unconditional love.” I know exactly what you mean! I have tried to share with my counsellor my belief that my parents don’t love me, and she pushes against it. Everyone I have shared that with seems to push against the idea. They seem to think I am saying it in a sad way, and I am, but there is something freeing in it too. I mean yes, maybe they “love” me in the way the word is used, I don’t know.

        But I agree with you completely, unconditional love is something more. It is qualitatively different than conditional love. It is something I didn’t used to believe in, but find so much comfort and peace now knowing it is REAL. It is possible. It does seem many others don’t believe in it either.

        I can tell you have walked this journey. You have seen this experience unfold in it’s many layers. Thank you so much for reaching out to others like me to encourage us and share your knowledge with us. In my day to day life I struggle to connect with others around this experience I am going through. So it is incredibly powerful to have these moments of feeling seen and relating to others.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Then have faith in you, others haven’t seen what you have and cannot relate until they too step into their fears. And your parents do love you…but in the way they have been taught to love. They can’t help that, they know no other way. And a classic example of that is…how many times have you heard it said from a brother or sister or friend…your just like your mom or your just like your dad. It is the classic I speak of, you cannot be but what you are taught in your environment. You won’t be exactly like them but you will take on their traits because your upbringing is by them. They too have their pain to find within them from those that they loved and looked up to also. They most certainly did love you the best that they could, as you will to your children. But it can’t be helped that they also pass on that pain within them because they just don’t know any other way.
        Now the important bit…that very process has a very, very important part to play in your life. And I can best explain it this way…you cannot fully appreciate happiness unless you have experienced sadness too. Ask anyone who has been through a very hard time in a relationship in how it feels when it becomes happy, it is appreciated more than anything, simply because they now know it can be very sad. Love is the same, you cannot know or appreciate unconditional love until you experience conditional love in all its ways. Conditional love is all those emotions that we have from that very childhood where we feel that rejection from those we love and look up to, anger, sadness, fear so that we can appreciate their opposites of joy, happiness and courage. One cannot be known truly without the other. And as we go through our lives we build a heart from those hard places. And as another example…if I give you $500 a week for nothing you will spend it all over without giving it a thought…but if you have to work for that money you will hesitate before spending it and ask yourself is it worth it, especially after the hard work you’ve put into earning it. Your love is the same, if God just gave you unconditional love you could never appreciate it because you do not understand it…but if you are given conditional love you have to work and work at it to find your truth within it, and by experiencing it you can see its worth and the self love you have ever blocked because of the conditions you have placed on it…by thinking there is something wrong with you, that you are unlovable because of how you felt you were treated by your mom/dad which has always left you in doubt of your worth, those I can’t do this or that, I’m nor good enough etc, etc. And one day after searching through all your pain from your many relationships you will look back at that same pain from how you felt you were treated by your mom/dad. You will go back in your heart and feel how it made you feel and within it, when you are ready, it will show you something from that little child’s mind in how it truly made you feel, that rejection that tore your heart apart and set in motion your journey of that condition you placed on yourself, that fear of that rejection that would go on into all of your life so that you would one day reach this very place and finally see its truth but now from an adult mind and heart…and if you are ready, understand it…and set you free, finally, forever. It is a very long, hard journey…but, as a witness to it all, I know when you reach its end and see that truth you will be so glad that every step you took was the exact steps needed to find you, and that self love we have forever denied ourselves. Believe in it and be free ❤️ 🙏🏽 🦋

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for these words from the heart. ❤️ I see growth in me week by week. I am holding on through this journey. I do believe like you say that it is all worthwhile and meaningful. Thank you so much again for reaching out to me with your words of encouragement and experience.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment